The Four C’s of Diamonds

The diamond industry categorizes diamonds. This is otherwise known as grading them. The best way to learn about diamonds is to understand how diamonds are professionally graded using the four c’s.

Be aware that these factors are less important when choosing a Diamond Belly Ring due to the size of the diamonds in body jewelry. Diamond Belly Rings are affordable for this reason. The price of Diamond Belly Rings generally reflects the diamond carat – carat and cut are the most important factors when choosing a Diamond Belly Ring.

All Diamond Belly Rings on Belly Button Rings Guide are manufactured to the highest possible standards, using a minimum of 14k gold in our processes.

Before choosing which Diamond Belly Ring is right for you, check out our short guide to the 4 c’s of Diamonds……


  • Cut
  • Clarity
  • Color
  • Carat


While this may seem a bit complicated at first, these are really questions that anyone buying a diamond would ask. Of course you would ask how many carats a diamond is or its carat weight. You would ask about the cut to see if it is pear shaped, princess, or round shaped, etc. So, keep these things in mind.



The cut of a diamond is probably the biggest priority because it can affect the quality of the diamond itself. The cut can actually affect the other three c’s tremendously. It doesn’t matter if you have good color and clarity if the cut is not good. The cut is the size that the diamond is cut in and includes the width and the depth plus the overall uniform look of the diamond. Simply put, diamonds that are not cut well will not have that sparkle to them. Look for a diamond cut that is between 53% to 64% of the width. Always buy a diamond that is GIA certified.



There are very very few diamonds that can be classified as flawless. Most diamonds have flaws that occur naturally when the diamond is forming. How well you can see the flaws, how many there are, and the size of the flaws is referred to as the clarity of the diamond. Diamonds that have the least flaws are more radiant and worth more money. There are inclusions and blemishes when you talk in terms of flaws in diamonds. Inclusions are on the inside of the diamond and blemishes are on the outside of it. An inclusion can be an air bubble or a crack whereas a blemish is a chip or a scratch.



A clear diamond holds the most value. This is because it is more radiant and it sparkles more. Unfortunately, most diamonds are not clear so the closer the color is to clear the more it is valued. The lighter the diamond is in color the more light is allowed to pass through making it even more remarkable. To determine the color of a diamond a scale is used from GIA. A colorless diamond would have a D rating and one that has a yellowish hue to it would be a Z. Diamonds that fall from D to F on this scale are the most expensive and also the rarest. Keep in mind that most of the color is not visible to anyone that is not trained in the field.



The carat is the weight of the diamond. The carat will also determine the value of the diamond. 200 milligrams equals one carat. You may see the word carat also spelled as karat. Karat with a K is used in gold purity.


Diamonds are treasured gems. The industry has to have some type of grading system and the 4 c’s as part of the International Diamond Grading System is the one that is used to evaluate diamonds today.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *